BRINJAL- POTATO CURRY

Hey There. How you doing? Recently when I saw nice long, maroonish, organic lady finger in my grocery store I immediately jumped to pick up a pack. Since it was packed with a cling wrap but I managed to check if they are soft and good. And they seemed fine. I could not resist the temptation to pick 2 packets.

After 2 days I fished out the packets from the fridge and after washing when I started chopping – snap. The beauties had turned hard as a stick. I know after cooking they will turn all chewy and fibrous. Never mind. I tried another one. And another. And so on. So except 2 lady fingers – rest all, both packets were now wasted.

Imagine my frustration, disappointment and mood after this happened. I had to change my plan and my mood to prepare myself to cook something else for dinner. But the gloomy and dark mood remained. That is how powerful affect food has on me. L I can rejoice on seeing fresh produce. I get upset on seeing “good outside bad inside” produce.

Anyways, today’s recipe was a result of the failed lady finger. When I dug back into my fridge and saw brinjals decided to make this dish.

20170801_205027 - CopyINGREDIENTS:

Small Brinjals – 5-6

Potatoes – 2 small

Onions – 2 chopped

Tomatoes – 2 chopped

Coriander Seeds – 1 tblspn

Khus Khus – 1 tblspn

Garlic cloves -2 small

Ginger – ½ inch piece

Grated coconut – 3 tblspn

Red Chilli Powder- ½ tblspn

Cumin – 1 tblspn

Mustard – 1 tbslpn

Milk – ½ cup

Turmeric Powder – ¼ tblspn

Curry Leaves – 1 stem

Oil – 2 tblspn

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cut the brinjals lengthwise. Cube the potatoes
  2. In a pan dry roast coriander seeds, khus khus, grated coconut, red chilli powder and cumin for 2 minutes. Do not brown them.
  3. Take it in a blender along with onion, tomato, garlic and ginger and blend them to make a smooth paste.
  4. In the pan, add oil.
  5. Once the oil is hot, splutter mustard.
  6. Add curry leaves.
  7. Add the blended masala in and mix well. Keep mixing till the oil starts leaving the sides of the pan.
  8. Add brinjal and potatoes and saute well.
  9. Add turmeric powder and mix well.
  10. Add salt and mix well.
  11. Add water and bring it to a boil. Close and let the potatoes and brinjals cook.
  12. Once the brinjals and potatoes are cooked add milk and keep mixing. Adjust the salt. Keep stirring for 2 minutes on medium flame.

Serve with phulkas or rice.20170801_205020 - Copy

 

 

Leave a Reply

