PALAK PAKODA/ SPINACH FRITTERS

Hola. How are you wonderful readers. How is the weather there? The weather here sucks. The wells are drying up. There was/ is no rain. By summer there will be serious water shortage.It worries me when I think of it. I mean what are we giving to our future generation? And it irritates me when I see someone lavishly wasting water, electricity,etc. My father was/ is very strict. He scolds us royally if he sees the light on in empty washroom or water dripping from any tap.I know what you are thinking. No he’s not military but it is good thing right. We should conserve energy. And as parents we should inculcate the good habits in kids. So when those days I never understood dad getting angry every now and then but his scolding got us into this good habit.

I love nature.I love gardening. And I do my teeny tiny bit for conserve energy. Small day to day task helps. Like for watering my plants I use leftover water from boiled potatoes. It not only waters my plants but also nourishes it. Before sleeping I ensure none of the electrical socket is on like phone charger, etc. Of course even check the rooms lights are off too.

Moving on to today’s recipe it is a wonderful and healthy snack. Palak or spinach is rich in iron. And these days I am growing Bangalore Palak at home too. So I get enough palak from my garden itself. Fun right? 🙂

1INGREDIENTS:

Chopped palak – 1 cup

Besan/ Gram Flour – 1/2 cup

Rice Flour – 1/4 cup

Chilly Powder – 1/4 tsp

Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp

Soda – a pinch

Salt – as per taste

Oil for deep frying

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Take besan, rice flour, chilly powder, soda and salt and sift it together.
  2. Add water to make a thick batter. Make sure there are no lumps.
  3. Add the chopped palak and mix well.
  4. Heat oil.
  5. Take spoonfuls of the palak batter and drop it in oil.
  6. Fry till a brown color appears on the pakodas.
  7. Drain and serve.

Crispy and tasty palak pakodas for your evening hunger. 2

 

Leave a Reply

