SUNSHINE BREAKFAST

1Hello wonderful readers. Wow. Can you believe its already 10th January 2017. Well I hope you had a awesome start to New Year. You may be wondering where I was and why my blog was silent for so many days. Well I was very much here but was caught up with lots of work and responsibilities. No, I was not resting. In fact just the opposite. My blog called out to me but I just couldn’t post anything. Moreover I wanted the first post of 2017 to be simple, healthy and refreshing. Not the usual stuff. Not the difficult stuff either. But something that everyone can make. Something that yells out “healthy”. Something that is colorful. Something that is peaceful.

This week you will see many colorful posts that are healthy and very quick too. By the way you can find me on Instagram too. Do follow me and stay updated with the latest posts and pictures.

2I got to meet lots of new people and make friends though some training programs. And I was so glad to know that people are now showing interest in growing their own veggies and fruits. Many people are aware of the institutions that support such initiatives. Many are beginners. Some want to start in future. I think the need for eating healthy and pesticide free food is fueling this hobby. I have been gardening from childhood. My parents inculcated this habit from very tender age. Everywhere we stayed we had big gardens. In fact 2 garden – one kitchen and one flower garden. I still have old photos of dad holding the brinjal plant. Everywhere we went curry leaf tree was a regular family member. Those things have been part of me till now. In my small balcony garden I grow aloe vera, palak, amaranth leaves (cheera), mint, holy basil (tulsi) green chilly, curry leaves, coriander leaves, ginger, pineapple etc. along with some other floral plants. Sometimes some plants dry up when we take vacation. But I usually get them back on their green leaves.

Coming to today’s recipe it is a no cook version. It is a good way to eat many fruits at the same time. And very quick to make. And it is satisfying since some fruits are heavy and you do not feel hungry soon.

4INGREDIENTS:

Corn flakes – 1/2 cup (plain)

Watermelon – 1 cup cubed

Pineapple – 1/2 cup cubed

Apple – 1/2 cup cubed

Orange –  1

Pomegranate – 1/2 cup

Cherry – 2 tblspn

Nuts of your choice – 2 tblspn (I used chopped almonds, chia and sunflower seeds)

Flavored Yogurt/Curd – 1 packet strawberry and mango flavored

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Add all the fruits and mix them with the nuts.
  2. Take 2 bowls.
  3. In one bowl add mango flavored yogurt.
  4. Add fruits and top it with corn flakes.
  5. In another bowl add strawberry flavored yogurt.
  6. Add fruits and top it with corn flakes.

Enjoy it for a sunshine and healthy breakfast. The addition of these many varieties of fruits makes it nutritional and heavy.

NOTE: The pictures does not show the fruits as cubed instead they are cut the way they are for presentation sake. 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

