DATES WHEAT SUGAR-FREE EGGLESS CAKE

4You know how some things holds so much meaning. Take for example months. Some months are specifically known as celebration months. December is very nostalgic month for me. Where I was born and brought up, December was cold. It meant carol singing competition in schools and church. It meant sweet aroma of home made delicacies. It also meant late night prayers at church. It also meant late night carol and Santa group visiting our houses. It meant late night Xmas tree decoration. I am sure you too have fond memories of December , Christmas and New year.

I made this cake for 2 reasons:

When my mom came to know that I had started baking cakes, she asked me for a cake that she can try too.

One of my friend mentioned that her son could not have artificial sugar due to health reasons hence she wanted to give him a sugar-free cake. 3

Few people have asked me the difference between Baking Soda and Baking powder. Let me explain it in my next post. Due to shortage of time I could not elaborate it here.

Just glance over the ingredients. Are you surprised? This is the most healthiest cake ever. Do try it and let me know how it turned out. 5678910

INGREDIENTS:

Dates – 18-20 ( I used Doha Dates)

Milk – 1 and 1/4 cup (I used skim)

Wheat flour – 1 cup

Oil – 1/2 cup (I used Olive)

Baking soda – 1 tsp

Baking Powder – 1/2 tsp

Butter for greasing pan

Chopped nuts – 2 tblspn ( I used cashew and almond)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Soak pitted dates in milk for at least 1 hour.
  2. In a blender blend the dates and milk. (Blend finely if you don’t want dates pieces in cake)
  3. Sieve together in a bowl wheat flour, baking soda and baking powder.
  4. Add in oil and mix well.
  5. Add the dates- milk mix and fold in properly.
  6. Heat a pressure cooker with a stand inside.
  7. Place a baking paper in cake pan.
  8. Grease the pan and paper with butter.
  9. Pour the batter inside the pan.
  10. Sprinkle some chopped nuts at top (optional)
  11. Place the pan on the stand in cooker.
  12. Remove the gasket ( round ring) and whistle from the pressure cooker lid.
  13. Close the lid of the pressure cooker and bake on low flame for 30-40 minutes or till the knife inserted comes out clean.
  14. Remove from pressure cooker once baked and let it cool down.
  15. Once cooled remove from pan and cut into pieces. 12

Enjoy.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “DATES WHEAT SUGAR-FREE EGGLESS CAKE

  1. Hi Yeleena, I some recipes I see that we have to add salt or sand in the pressure cooker for makinf cakes. I don’t see a mention of it in your blogs. Also can we use any steel vessel or should it mandatorily be a oven friendly vessel ?

    Like

    1. Hi Priscilla. Regarding your first question: I had tried both with and without salt. I didn’t find any difference. So you can use 3-4 tblspn of salt to cover the pressure cooker bottom no harm in adding salt.

      Regarding your second question: If you are baking in Pressure cooker any aluminium pan will do….if you are baking in OTG (Oven Toaster Grill) then aluminium cake pans are available in market…..if you are baking in microwave convection then microwave friendly pan is mandatory. ..Hope this helps.

      Like

      1. Priscilla, I would like to say two things here…..yes i started kitchen journey very early in life but I am a conscious cook after my son was born as I intend to feed him variety and healthy food….I just wish why I didn’t expand my wings earlier….Secondly, everyone has a hidden talent, unless we give enough chances to explore we will miss out a great passion within us…. Pls do let me know if I can help in any way 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

