PUMPKIN SOUP

2I never thought I would be posting soups recipe. The only reason is soups are not my personal favorite. The only soups I order in restaurants is the tomato soup or hot and sour chicken soup. But recently I have this new found love and respect for soups. They are not only flavorsome but also very soothing to the stomach. Sometimes I use them as my side curry for hot chapathis.

These days I have a new mantra. Don’t reject until you have tried it. Many dishes that have been mediocre in my list or to my liking are now matching up to my taste. My mother when she sees me gorging on some side dish she prepared, she smiles and says that as a kid I simply refused to eat this. I guess people change and so do their taste.

Anyways coming to today’s recipe, this is one quick soup. Whenever I am under weather I make this soup. In US, pumpkin holds not only culinary significance but also traditional value. Halloween is incomplete without pumpkin decorations. Pumpkin also finds its place in many folklore and fairy/fiction tales aka cindrella, harry potter. And Thanksgiving is coming up and soup is a must. Do try this and let me know if you liked it.

3INGREDIENTS:

Pumpkin – cubed 1 cup

Onion – 1 medium

Garlic – 2 cloves

Butter – 2 tblspn

Dried Mixed herbs – 1/4 tsp (Optional though I would strongly recommend this)

Water – 1.5 cups

Black pepper powder – 1 tsp

Salt – as per taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Heat butter in a pressure cooker.
  2. Add chopped onion and garlic and saute well.
  3. Saute till the onions have become translucent and the raw smell of garlic disappears.
  4. Add chopped pumpkin and saute well.
  5. We are looking for slight brown color on the pumpkin.
  6. Add water, salt and mixed dried herbs and close the pressure cooker.
  7. Pressure cook for 2 whistles and switch off.
  8. When the pressure has settled, blend the contents to a smooth paste.
  9. Add more water based on the consistency you desire.
  10. Add pepper powder and mix well.

Serve hot with croutons.1

 

Leave a Reply

