POHA/ FLATTENED RICE BEETROOT PAYASAM

1This is a guest post by my colleague and very good friend Asha. If you are in my office and need to find me and I am not at my desk I am most probably near Asha’s desk. Not a day goes by when we don’t talk. We share lots of ¬†gossip, interests and advice. When I mentioned about Pinktober she made this recipe and and got in office.

This payasam is not only healthy but yummy too. It is made from flattened rice (poha/aval) and beetroot. When we run out of options to include beetroot we have many more coming up. Try this out yourself and get surprised.

INGREDIENTS:

Flattened Rice – 1 cup

Milk – 2 cups

Beetroot – 1 Grated

Sugar – 2 cups

Dry Fruits/ Nuts – 1/2 cup (Optional)

Ghee – 2 tblspn (Optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a thick bottomed pan add milk and bring to a boil.
  2. Add poha, grated beetroot and cook till the milk has become half the amount.
  3. Add sugar and mix well.
  4. In a pan add ghee and saute dry fruits and nuts.
  5. Add this to the payasam mix.

@Asha: Thank You dear for adorning my blog with this sweet and lovely recipe. Hoping to see you more in this space.2

 

Leave a Reply

