WHITE SAUCE PASTA

3You know, we are driven by our fears so much that we often refuse to even try. One of my fears is baking. Especially since my microwave oven has some electric problems I am scared to try baking after 2 failed attempts. But you shouldn’t limit yourself. I always wanted to bake my own bread and I am glad I was successful this weekend. I baked multi-grain bread in pressure cooker. Yes you heard it right. Will post this recipe soon.

1Anyways today’s recipe is a pasta dish. A very famous one. Pasta with white sauce. Often people ask me if it is good to feed toddlers pasta or not. Well I use durum wheat pasta which I feel is comparatively safer than the maida/ flour one. Secondly, since I make pasta once a month I feel it is fine. It is much much better than store bought junk food that our kids are exposed to these days.

This pasta dish is also very simple and yummy. Next time I will prepare a non-veg version of the same. Try this out and your kids will love it.

INGREDIENTS:

Spaghetti – 2 cups cooked al dente

Maida/ Flour – 1 tblspn

Milk – 4 tblspn

Black Pepper Powder – 1 tsp

Chilli Flakes – 2 tblspn

Oregano – 1/2 tsp

Butter Р1 and 1/2  tblspn

Mixed herbs – 1/2 tsp (optional)

Cheese Grated (optional)

Salt – to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a pan heat butter.
  2. Add flour and saute till the raw smell leaves. (this would take 30 sec approx.)
  3. Add milk and cook till it thickens.
  4. Add pepper powder, herbs, chilli flakes and cooked pasta.
  5. Toss well so the sauce is nicely coated to the pasta.
  6. Top it with grated cheese.

Till next time enjoy. 2

Leave a Reply

