ALOO TIKKI/ SAVOURY POTATO CAKES

1I love gardening. I love the sight of flowers. It has healing effect on me. I have a small balcony where I have limited plants on pots. Couple of years back I used to grow flowers but then they dried out as we left for our native for a week or so. Hence I quit growing flowers because I can’t see the plants die. The current plants I have is aloe vera, curry leaf, amaranth, cactus, baby pineapple and 2 show plants. I also have some plants that I grow in vases inside the house. Those are like small stems of decorative leaves. So you see when my parents visit me I ask them to get some leaves or flowers. Just so I can brighten up my home with their smell at least for a day . The flower you see in this picture is brought by my mom. She wanted to see how I will use it for my food photography. And she was pleasantly surprised and happy. She loved the pics.

2Anyways coming to today’s recipe Aloo tikki is a famous snack. It is quickly and easily prepared. Even kids love it firstly because it has potatoes and secondly because it is crispy from outside and soft from inside. I make it as a tiffin snack. This tikki is the base for a whole lot of other chat items.

3INGREDIENTS:

Potatoes – 2 big ones

Coriander Leaves – 1 tblspn

Lemon Juice – 1 tsp

Chilly Powder – 1 tsp

Coriander Powder – 1/2 tsp

Cumin Powder – 1/2 tsp

Garam Masala powder – 1/4 tsp

Bread crumbs to coat

Salt to taste

Oil to shallow fry

4INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Pressure cook potatoes so it is properly cooked.
  2. Peel and mash the potatoes.
  3. To the mashed potatoes add coriander, chilly, cumin and garam masala.
  4. Add salt and lemon juice and mix properly.
  5. Heat a griddle/ tawa with oil for shallow frying.
  6. Take bread crumbs in a plate.
  7. Make small balls out of the potato mixture and then flatten it in your palm to make tikkis.
  8. Coat the tikkis in breadcrumb.
  9. Place them on tawa.
  10. When one side is browned turn over and let it brown the other side.
  11. Once both sides are done remove from tawa and plate it on kitchen towel.

Serve with ketchup or green chutney or dates chutney. Or use it as a base to prepare other chat items.5

 

One thought on “ALOO TIKKI/ SAVOURY POTATO CAKES

Leave a Reply

