GREEN PEAS TIKKIS

2I often think what to pack as a tiffin. Despite there being so many options when the time comes we all draw a blank isn’t it? So as usual I opened up my fridge and started glancing on all the shelves. Nothing caught my fancy. Then I started staring at the kitchen shelves. I thought one or two options but then discarded it thinking it will consume time in my very busy early morning hours. Immediately, a thought struck me and I realized I hadn’t checked my freezer. And there it was. One packet of frozen green peas. I grabbed it and decided to try the green peas tikki that I read sometime back.

6I had paired this tikki with my green mango mint chutney, ketchup and burger buns.

INGREDIENTS:

Frozen Green Peas – 1 cup

Besan/ Gram Flour – 1/2 cup

Bread Crumbs – 3 tbslpn

Ginger-Garlic Paste – 1 tblspn

Coriander Leaves – 1 tblspn

Green chilly – 2-3

Salt to taste

Oil for shallow frying

1INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cook green peas in little water.
  2. Strain and take it in a blender.
  3. Blend green peas along with ginger-garlic paste, chopped coriander leaves, green chilly and salt.
  4. Take it out of blender and mix gram flour and bread crumbs.
  5. Make small balls out of the mixture.
  6. Now take the balls in your palm and flatten it to form tikkis.
  7. Heat a tawa/ griddle with little oil for shallow frying.
  8. Place the tikkis and fry them on low heat.
  9. Fry both sides till golden brown and drain on kitchen towel.

Assemble the tikkis for a burger or have it just like that with chutney of your choice.5

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

