POMEGRANATE LEMONADE WITH CHIA

1As a mother, I ensure that my kid has all kinds of fruits. But I don’t have them for myself. I think you should become selfish at these times. Along with taking care of your kids needs, every mother should think and plan for their health too.

I know it is easier said than done. But we have to try. I know many women post delivery due to lack or time or energy ignore their nutrition. I can relate to that. In fact most of us do not continue our supply of calcium tablets. Either we forget them in our busy schedule or it just stays at the back of our mind. It is crucial that we take extra measures to keep ourselves healthy and fit. If you have someone to take care of you and your needs, well and good. But if not then you must take charge of your life and take care of yourself and your kid.

You may think why I am talking so much about such a topic but I felt it is crucial. Post delivery women tend to loose weight and put on weight quickly. That is primarily due to irregular eating habits. And when everyone seems to be commenting on them, the mother still sticks to child’s needs first. She will be the first one to wake up and last one to sleep.

Post delivery, when I joined office back, I experienced extreme stomach and back pain at mid-morning. I never understood the reason. But incidentally one morning i was super hungry. And so before I started with the daily chore I prepared tea and had few biscuits with it. That day I didn’t get any pain. I repeated the same process next day and no pain.

That’s when I realized the fact that the pain was due to gastric problems. As a feeding mother you are drained of energy but also hungry. Waiting to eat breakfast at 10 AM worsens your health. Hence, it is a good idea to nibble on something in the morning before you get busy with your chores.

This recipe is a twist to your usual lemonade. As mentioned in previous posts chia seed is super food. Pomegranate is a added bonus to the Vitamin C provided by the lemon. Do try and let me know how it turned out.

2INGREDIENTS:

Lemon – Half

Sugar – 1/2 tblspn

Salt – 1/2 tsp

Pomegranate seeds – 2 tblspn

Chia Seeds – 1 tblspn

Water – 1.5 cups

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a blender take pomegranate seeds, sugar, salt and blend.
  2. Strain in a glass of water.
  3. Squeeze juice of lemon and add chia seeds.
  4. Mix well. Let it sit for 10 minutes till chia seeds are swollen.

TIPS:

  1. Based on your preference you can chill this drink.
  2. Increase the sweetness by sugar or honey.3
2 thoughts on “POMEGRANATE LEMONADE WITH CHIA

Leave a Reply

