MUSHROOM PEPPER STIR FRY/MUSHROOM MEZHUKU

1I love mushrooms, especially button mushrooms. Whenever I see them in my grocery store I make sure to pick one pack. But I like to make only stir fry with them. I feel with curries the mushroom loses its flavour. But that’s my view.

I love this dish so much that it gets over with the tasting itself. At the time of serving the amount left will be very less than when I was chopping them. It goes well with phulkas or even rice. For me it goes well as it is …hehehe

I cut my finger recently and finding it difficult to type quickly…..So no more blabbering and straight to the recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

Mushrooms – 1 packet (preferable button mushrooms)

Onion – 1 large

Pepper Powder – 1 tblspn

Curry Leaves – 1 steam

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Oil – 1 tblspn

Salt – to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Heat oil in a kadai.
  2. Once oil is hot, splutter mustard seeds.
  3. Add thinly sliced onions and sauté on high heat.
  4. Add some salt and sauté onions.
  5. Keep stirring the onions for it to caramelize instead of burn.
  6. Once onions are browned lower the flame and add curry leaves.
  7. Add mushrooms (slit lengthwise).
  8. Sauté on high heat now. It will leave lots of water. No problem, keep sautéing. Once water has evaporated add pepper powder.
  9. Mix well and take it off flame.

TIPS:

  1. Don’t overcook mushrooms as they tend to become rubbery.
  2. The onions have to be nicely caramelized for the nice taste of onions and mushroom to evolve.3
2 thoughts on “MUSHROOM PEPPER STIR FRY/MUSHROOM MEZHUKU

Leave a Reply

