SPAGHETTI AGLIO OLIO

on

1Ever since I saw this being prepared by Vicky Ratnani from NDTV good times I thought…wow this is super easy and by the looks of it yummy. I wanted to try this from almost 2 years now. Problem was the olive oil. I know it won’t have the same effect if I used normal oil. And olive oil being costly if I don’t use and make different dishes then buying whole bottle of olive oil is just waste of money. But now I have many recipes using olive oil so I went right ahead and bought.

6Who doesn’t love spaghetti? Why to make the kids wait to visit a restaurant to eat nice spaghetti when you can make it at home. And why stop them? It is not junk food. It has the health quotient of olive oil, garlic and the spaghetti I used is wheat. Even toddlers like my son took an instant liking to spaghetti. I think the reason kids love spaghetti is due to the curiosity behind it. The art in picking up each noodle strap and placing it delicately inside mouth and chewing the deliciousness of al dente spaghetti is what makes them like spaghetti. Am I becoming poetic here?

Let me stop and talk about the recipe. I won’t tell how much of what to put. Because I too don’t know. I prepared it based on my hunch. And since I don’t know how to provide a measuring unit on the amount of spaghetti I used I have provided step by step pictures.

4When I got olive oil I instantly judged by its colour that it would be very heavy and I should use it judiciously. But then I remembered all the cookery shows talking about a good amount of olive oil usage. So then I added oil based on what I think is enough to coat the spaghetti equally with all the flavours. And the cookery show and my last minute thinking paid off J

Do ask me if you have any clarifications or doubts.

INGREDIENTS:

Wheat Spaghetti

Garlic Cloves (lots of it)

Olive Oil

Chili Flakes

Pepper Powder

Parsley or coriander leaves

Oregano (Optional)

Cheese (Optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Take a deep pan with lots of water in it. Add lots of salt. Bring it to a boil.
  2. When the water starts to boil add the spaghetti. My spaghetti packet said it take approx. 8 mnts to cook. You can check in between if you spaghetti is cooked Al dente or not.
  3. While your spaghetti is cooking take a pan and good amount of olive oil.
  4. Add chopped garlic and let it brown. Yes it has to be brown for the flavour to be released in the oil.
  5. Once browned add chilli flakes. (decide based on your taste. I didn’t put much so as to make it mild.
  6. Drain the spaghetti in a colander and add that directly into the pan.2
  7. Add little pepper powder (and oregano) and give it a good mix.
  8. Garnish with chopped coriander (parsley). If you wish you can grate in cheese too.

5

TIPS:

  1. Do not drain and keep cooked spaghetti and then prepare the sauce. Both has to be done simultaneously or better prepare the sauce first and the spaghetti.
  2. Al Dente is Italian word. It means that your spaghetti should be cooked in such a way that you should get a firm bite.

8

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hira says:

    Super quick !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

