HOMEMADE APPLE JAM

3First things first. I want to thank the person who invented jam. It is such a go-to option for busy parents. It is so versatile to be enjoyed with anything – roti, bread, pancake, cakes, muffins, etc.

I don’t know why I didn’t try this before. You can easily make your jam at home without any preservatives. The ones that you get in stores are loaded with high sugar. I remember during Christmas time, one day when I woke up, I found jars of jam prepared by mom. Out of innocence I asked her where did these jars came from and she replied Santa had visited while I was sleeping and he gave jam for me. It used be the yummiest jam I ever tasted. It was guava jam.

Lately I have not been keeping well. My parents had come to visit me and they got lots of fruits including apple. I was thinking of what to make of them to finish it when I thought of jam. My colleague told me that her son does not have apple sauce because it tastes like medicine. Before making this jam I thought maybe it will taste the same as apple sauce. But I was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it. It was nothing like apple sauce and tasted very good. My son loved it. Sometimes when I am in a hurry I prepare roti and spread a generous amount of this jam.

2INGREDIENTS:

Apple – 1 cup

Sugar – ¾ cup

Lemon Juice – 1 tbsp

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Wash, peel, core and grate the apples.
  2. Add half cup water and cook the apples.
  3. Once cooked add the sugar and let it dissolve.
  4. Transfer it to a kadai and keep stirring.
  5. There will come a point when it will start leaving the sides. That means it will get thick and will not stick to the kadai.
  6. Add the lemon juice now. Keep stirring for another half minute and then switch off the flame.
  7. Once cooled store in airtight jar.

4TIPS:

  1. You can avoid grating the apples. Just chop them in small pieces and once cooked mash them. It is fine if you have some chunks too.
  2. I had sweet apples. So I did not add much sugar. Adjust your sugar according to your taste.

You can use this jam as a spread for breads, rotis, pancakes as I have used in my pancake post. Do try this lovely golden coloured apple jam and surprise your kids.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Pyary says:

    Yeleena tried your Apple jam recipe. Super easy and yummy! I did lessen the sugar looking forward to some toasted bread and jam 😀 thanks

    Like

    1. yeleena says:

      Awesome news. Thanks 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

